Molly’s Psychic Reading Room

At the NW corner of Grape and India Streets in San Diego sits a little psychic reading room that looks like it might have been a gas station in a former life. The squat brick shop, dwarfed by its towering sign and surrounded by an ever-empty fenced parking lot, endured year after year while the city grew and changed all around it. Its humble, stubborn, misfit character inspired me. I imagined Molly, the psychic medium of TL4D, living there, her backstory, her friendship with Lola. She spoke to me and she was so fun that I kept on hanging out with her.

This neighborhood is called Little Italy. It’s a great place to find contemporary art, eat great Italian food, or watch sailboats dozing on the bay. I never went into the psychic shop, but I have gone in the harlequinesque 7-11 across the street a few times, also in the book.

Recently I learned the gas station psychic shop is slated for demolition. Beats me if anyone else is going to miss the place, but I know I will.

 

Mystery Shorts

I don’t mean the eternal question: Boxers or briefs? Rather, the 2018 Derringer Awards for short mystery fiction have been announced. Winners are posted here, at the website of the Short Mystery Fiction Society, with links to the winning flashfic and nominees. Congratulations to all!

Seeds

It seems to me when people look at anything, often the first question that occurs to them is: How can I eat that? This might be how the rumor started that the moon is made of cheese. That, and dragons occasionally eating it and then spitting it back out, like last night. I didn’t get a good pic of the lunar eclipse last night, but thankfully the dragon did spit it out, so surfing will continue in California. (Because without the moon, the oceans would be much calmer.) As for the eternal question of how to eat stuff, I’m a fan of backyard gardening. Texas Gardener’s Seeds, a fine gardening journal, includes a flash mystery of mine this week, A Two Hundred Dollar Lunch, here. (Scroll to the second item.)

 

 

 

 

 

The Last Four Digits: A Lola Vega Mystery

book for webpage

Fans of Stephanie Plum and Izzy Spellman will love the adventures of Lola Vega…

To catch a movie star’s killer, she’ll romp through SoCal, Tijuana, ex-wives, and psychics, dodging professional killers and one hot homicide cop. Everybody wants Lola!

~Southern California Book Festival Award Winner~

~2017 San Diego Book Award Finalist~

5star-RF--shiny-web5star-RF--shiny-web

Available now: The Last Four Digits
Follow me on facebook
Follow me on Twitter @persephone2923
Add to goodreads

 

Praise for The Last Four Digits

5 STARS!  “…A suspenseful and engaging mystery with quirky believable characters… This book is gripping and suspenseful. The plot is very engaging. The characters are drawn so well through their actions and dialogue. This book is fun and fast paced, and I could not put it down. I look forward to more novels by Julie Leo.”

~ N. R. Cohen, Amazon.com Reviews

5  STARS!    “…To me, it’s every bit as good as the Stephanie Plum novels. I loved the sassy detective and girl humor–this book has a good dose of funny to go along with the mystery plot. The main character was likeable because she was vulnerable, and not just some cardboard female badass. The mystery aspect and plot were good, but the characters were what really drew me into this book…”

~ Lori R., Amazon.com Reviews

5 STARS!    “Written with a touch of humor, a dash of romance, and a healthy dose of mystery, The Last Four Digits by Julie Leo is filled with interesting twists and amusing turns that keep the main characters on the verge of danger…Julie Leo does a remarkable job of writing dynamic characters and creative plot points. Her dialogue is believable and highly entertaining…I enjoyed the story from beginning to end, and I look forward to reading more from this talented writer.”

~ Francine Zane for Readers’ Favorite

5 STARS!    “In The Last Four Digits there is something for everyone; guns, romance, explosions and murder. There also is more than one mystery to solve...Lola Vega is a likable character that I would like to see more of in the future. She is smart, fashionable, and is always getting into trouble. However, my favorite character in the book was Molly. She was funny and very unpredictable…I enjoyed reading this book and hope to read more of Lola’s adventures in the future. This book is the first in the Lola Vega series. If you like action packed murder mysteries, then this book is for you.”

~ Jessyca Garcia for Readers’ Favorite

4 STARS!  “…Fascinating…Gripping and engaging, this is a mystery that keeps on getting better and better. Just when you think you have it figured out, a new clue pops up. Inching closer and closer to the truth, you just have to see how it all ends.”

~ Chica Latina, Sandra’s Book Club